Down the Rabbit Hole or Up the Mountain

I was talking with one of my good friends over the phone the other day. So surprised was she to know that I just moved to another school. “To where?” she asked. “To a bigger school” is my immediate reply. It was the usual reply I give, if not always, to people who would ask similar question. I would always put emphasis to the word “bigger” so to avoid negative speculation as to my reason of opting to transfer. It’s as if the word “bigger” would also mean “better”. Although, obviously it doesn’t mean greener pasture, to me it means closer to residence, lesser travel expense and fewer tasks. Thus equivalent to less worries and much more focus given to my major- English.

My friend apparently didn’t get what I was pointing at and thought I must be crazy doing such a rush decision. Some people think the same way as her. For them, smaller school is “better”. Smaller school would mean more opportunities to showcase a teacher’s multi-talents and a more personal approach to dealing with students. The chance to discover my own hidden talents is just but a plus, especially when the Principal would ask me to manage or coach an event I didn’t know I can until I try.

In the middle of the conversation, I admitted that I didn’t know if I was sliding down the rabbit hole or climbing to the mountain by the decision I had recently made in my life. But I assured her that wherever this would lead me, I am going to make the best out of it. If down the rabbit hole I entered, then I’d find the key the soonest to let myself out. If there is an entrance, there could possibly be an exit. If there is no key nor an exit, then I will dig more to find a chest of treasure; since they say that the most expensive treasures of earth are to be found in the deepest part of it.  If on the other hand I’m going up the mountain then I’m gonna give all my might just to breathe that fresh air at the top.

Wherever this would lead me, I don’t worry at all because according to Romas 8:28 “All things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”


Leave a Reply

